An Elementary School Teacher in the Show Me State


There will be blood

If I had a dollar for everytime I told my students to stop running down the hallway, jumping off stairs or leaning over bannisters I would not have to work anymore. Obviously, most students don’t listen to me and they only follow rules when I am watching them. They pay close attention to see when I turn my head so they can run, jump or hang without getting caught. Yesterday one of my students learned the hard way how dangerous it can be to break these rules. When I wasn’t looking he jumped off about 5 steps onto the a landing in the stairway. He didn’t land properly – he fell to the ground and cracked his head open. No joke. He stood up and there was blood everywhere, on the stairs and dripping down his face and body. He turned to me and said, “Ms. D! I’m bleeding!” Then he turned to sprint to the bathroom. I yell “where are you going?” He returns a few moments later with a paper towel on his head. Blood was gushing through the paper towel, obviously. I went into autopilot – he was sent to the nurse with a classmate, two responsible kids who aren’t crying hysterically were asked to go stand at the top/bottom of the stairs to stop anybody from going through, I called the janitor for a clean up. Kleenex were distributed to all the kids who were sobbing. The class conversation quickly turned to “this reminds me of the time that my dad was shot” and “Is he going to die?” I stopped by the nurse later and she said he was sent to the hospital for stitches but was going to be fine.

He returned today to school proud as a peacock. His head was bandaged up, so everybody could tell who he was. News travelled fast and he became the brave celebrity of the school today. Kids were stopping him in the hallway to ask if the stitches hurt. He was beaming from ear to ear. So much for learning his lesson.

I even caught another 2 students in MY class jumping down the stairs today.

They will never learn.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment